Skip to Main Content

Council of Majors

What is CoM?

The Interdisciplinary Studies Council of Majors is about building community. Professor Steven McAlpine described CoM, a student-driven extracurricular, as a “space for conversations”. A student driven extracurricular, CoM is a “space for conversations”, as described by Professor Steven McAlpine. The purpose of this organization is to:

  • Provide peer advertisement for INDS majors
  • Enhance the visibility of the INDS program on and off campus
  • Aid students in preparing INDS degree proposals
  • Provide a forum for open discussion between INDS majors
  • Establish a network for student discussion of curriculum across campus
  • Establish a student and alumni network for job and career development

The Council of Majors is a part of the Interdisciplinary Studies program mission, seeking to participate in service, social, and educational programs for the university community and beyond.

 

2015-2016 Events

Next year, we hope to have more experiential events in coordination with the INDS Living Learning Community (LLC). As always, we welcome your suggestions.

Fall 2015 Dates 

Event Day Date Time Location
Officer Meeting Wednesday August 26 12:00-1:00 FA006
Welcome Week Breakfast Monday August 31 11:00-1:00 Outside Fine Arts
Involvement Fest Wednesday September 2 12:00-3:00 Quad
General Meeting Wednesday September 9 12:00-1:00 FA006
Officer Meeting Wednesday September 16 12:00-1:00 FA006
S’more Social Thursday September 17 6:00-9:00 Erickson Field
General Meeting Wednesday September 23 12:00-1:00 FA006
Tie Dye Wednesday September 30 11:00-1:00 Main Street
Officer Meeting Wednesday October 7 12:00-1:00 FA006
General Meeting Wednesday October 14 12:00-1:00 FA006
Baltimore Trip Saturday October 17 9:00-3:00 Baltimore City
Officer Meeting Wednesday October 21 12:00-1:00 FA006
Pumpkin Decorating Wednesday October 28 11:30-1:30 Main Street
Visit to DelRey School Friday October 30 9:30-11:30 DelRey School
General Meeting Wednesday November 4 12:00-1:00 FA006
Criminal Justice Brunch Wednesday November 11 12:00-1:00 Math/Psych 101
Officer Meeting Wednesday November 18 12:00-1:00 FA006
General Meeting Wednesday November 25 12:00-1:00 FA006
Officer Meeting Wednesday December 2 12:00-1:00 FA006
General Meeting Wednesday December 9 12:00-1:00 FA006
Officer Meeting Wednesday December 16 12:00-1:00 FA006

 

Past Events

Last year, we had a ‘Neuroscience brunch’ that afforded the opportunity to ask an INDS alumna to about degree plans, capstones, and internships.

Petrovich Lecture is a guest lecture hosted by INDS every year. This year, we had the pleasure of having Kay Chernush from ArtWorks for Freedom. Her organization’s mission is to use the power of art in the fight against modern slavery and human trafficking.

2015-2016 Officers

President:
Maniraj Jeyaraju
maniraj1@umbc.edu

Vice Presidents:
Markus Proctor
mprocto1@umbc.edu

Deloris Abrokwa
deloris1@umbc.edu

Treasurer:                                                                  
Mariah Salcedo
mar26@umbc.edu

Secretary: 
Kameron Fielder
kameron1@umbc.edu

Public Relations: 
Katie Hardy
kh9@umbc.edu

From left to right: Deloris Abrokwa, Kathryn Hardy, Mariah Salcedo, Maniraj Jeyaraju, Markus Proctor, and Kameron Fielder